DIY Easter Basket Filling – Budget and Eco Friendly

Here goes my first post for DIY. (I am still trying to get the hang of this so please forgive any layout errors.)

I don’t know about anyone else, but I can not stand the commercial plastic easter “grass”. It’s messy, hard to clean, and it’s plastic. So this year I am determined to use something else. My first idea was to grown my own wheat grass for the bottom of the baskets (which I am planning on using decorated flower pots – post to come soon) for some reason I am having a hard time finding wheat grass seeds so as a backup I am making my own paper filler. I absolutely love this, not only is it easy, its cheap and very versitile. You can recycle the paper after Easter, you can store it for use in gift bags, or I am sure you can think of other uses. Be creative

First step: Buy your paper
I used assorted pastel card stock, which I had on hand. The great thing about this is you can use any type of paper and choose your own colors. You can even use patterned card to make it a bit fancier.

Step 2: Fold your paper
Fold your paper accordion style, about 1/4″ for each fold. It does not have to be perfect.

Step 3: Cut your paper
While keeping your paper folded cut about 1/4″ strips. Once again doesn’t have to be perfect.

Step 4: Fill your Basket
Repeat steps 2 and 3 until you have as much filling as you need. Put it into your basket and add your treats, egg, or other items. It is that easy and if your kids are old enough you can have them help, my 5 year old like to help with the folding. I then do the cutting so he doesn’t see the finished product and will still think it is from the Easter Bunny on Easter.

So, there you go an budget and eco friendly alternative to Easter Basket filling. I would love to see what you come up with Post a link to your blog or photo. I hope this has sparked some creativity. Enjoy

Keep an eye out for more DIY projects and FREE printables to come, or VISIT my shop for DIY personalized printables.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/braikdesign

Leave a Reply

